Hello World

So, I’m going to make a game.

I should preface this by saying I’m by no means a novice when it comes to game development. I studied game development at university and I’ve been working as a software developer for the last 18 months, so it’s fair to say I know my way around the ol’ curly brackets*.

But I’ve never done this. I’ve never made a game and released it to the world. Sure, I’ve made games before, but none of them were ever seen outside of the classroom; none of them were ever commercially available. I want to change that. My dream is to one day work for myself and this is hopefully a step in the right direction.

And I know that it won’t be easy because nothing worth doing ever is, but I’m prepared for that.  I’m prepared for my first game to not be a huge success. I’m prepared for my first game to be complete garbage. I’m prepared for nobody to be interested in my first game. But I’m also hopeful that it’ll be a huge success. I’m hopeful that gamers everywhere get a kick out of it. I’m hopeful that it allows me to continue making games full-time. I’m hopeful that it inspires you guys to pursue your passions too.

And that’s kind of the point of this blog. I hope it encourages anybody reading this to start making stuff themselves. (Also, it’s hopefully a good way to keep me motivated because the humiliation of failing publicly is definitely greater than the humiliation of failing privately).

Anyway, I’ve got to get started. No game has ever been made by writing lame blog posts. I promise future posts won’t be quite so emotionally motivated. From now on, you can expect far dryer and more technical posts. And let’s face it, that sounds way better than this shit.


* For those unaware, curly brackets are used extensively in numerous programming languages to enclose groups of statements (or in layman’s terms, group code).

Leave a Reply

